BON VOYAGE AND FITTING MY STUFF INTO ONE SUITCASE

I think there’s several levels of exhaustion at work here. One level is just never sleeping quite enough (the energy of leaving, plus all of this damn sunshine causes me to wake up far too early. Thanks, Southern California.), another level is continuously saying goodbye to friends and family members with the weak hope that they’d come visit me in Germany. And the final level is material exhaustion.

HOW DO YOU PACK YOUR WHOLE LIFE IN A BAG?

HOW DO YOU DRESS PROFESSIONALLY?

HOW MANY BOOKS ABOUT ENGLISH GRAMMAR SHOULD I STUDY WITH ON THE PLANE SO IT LOOKS LIKE I KNOW WHAT I’M DOING?

These questions are haunting me any chance I get.

Regardless, I’m happy. This feels so right it’s almost alarming.

Over this past week I’ve collected a series of pictures that accurately describe my feelings of excitement, resoluteness, love, bittersweetness, fake-it-till-you-make-it bravery, and a dash of fear. Enjoy!

In regards to saying goodbye to my friends and family:

tumblr_o2qzqb2CYv1tq0wuto1_540tumblr_o2qzqb2CYv1tq0wuto2_540tumblr_o2qzqb2CYv1tq0wuto4_540

 

In regards to my never-ending fatigue and stress eating:

tumblr_ny19eyOyWx1r38w10o2_540tumblr_m8ou0qtOhb1r2m2dpo1_540tumblr_o0m996i6hg1sn4t3lo1_540

Jessica Warrick (artist of mermaid)

tumblr_n7szlqTCZs1rwpb29o1_540

In regards to this weird feeling of just not giving a rats ass anymore and just GOING FOR IT, YO:

tumblr_nve0bjBMbV1rr22hqo1_540tumblr_myl75lZGxg1r607aso1_540tumblr_ns4g52e5GH1tq11emo1_540

Pep talks to myself that it’s okay to be overweight, different, have a large personality and be exuberant. Being meek doesn’t suit me anymore. There’s enough room for me:

tumblr_o1vlzck1XJ1qgrc3qo1_540

 

Dreamy thoughts about the fantasies of Hamburg:

tumblr_o4rqfnNBRF1qas1mto3_540tumblr_o4rqfnNBRF1qas1mto10_540tumblr_o4rqfnNBRF1qas1mto4_540tumblr_o4rql86xli1qas1mto3_540

Christian Schloe (artist)

I was about to show an image of my overflowing suitcase as the final picture, but it isn’t pretty, and I will have to reevaluate a few million items. Instead I found this lovely bag. Let’s just pretend I’m this dainty and whimsical instead, shall we?

tumblr_ntv57s2EPw1rpgpe2o1_540

Travel bag for ladies, 1900 – 1930. Exhibition 2015. Museum for communication, Berlin

GUYS THE NEXT TIME YOU HEAR FROM ME I’LL BE IN GERMANY. DID YOU GET THE MEMO? I’M MOVING TO GERMANY. THE AIRBNBs ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Much love,

Sarah

 

BON VOYAGE AND FITTING MY STUFF INTO ONE SUITCASE

One thought on “BON VOYAGE AND FITTING MY STUFF INTO ONE SUITCASE

Leave a Reply

